Sheldon E. Greisman Award


The Greisman award was created to honor Sheldon Greisman, MD (1928-2009) whose contributions helped provide a foundation for understanding host responses to endotoxin. Many of his observations provided a conceptual basis for current clinical innate and adaptive immunity research.

The award is given to an investigator (MD or PhD) in the clinical or basic sciences who has made substantial and original contributions which have led to an increased understanding of the interactions between microorganisms and innate immunity. Particular emphasis will be placed on translational research that provides new opportunities and directions for the development of diagnostic and therapeutic approaches. 

Nominations are made by the society membership prior to each biennial conference, and the recipients are chosen by the Governing Council.


2021           Steven Opal
2018           Andre Medvedev
2016           Marina Freudenberg
2014           Douglas Golenbock
2012           Jean-Marc Cavaillon